Nobody covers Brown County like The Democrat Buy PDF| Advertise| Contact Us
Hoosier Harvest Cookbook
2010 election coverage
Final candidate filings

The deadline for filing for public office was noon today. The unofficial list of candidates follows. New filings since Wednesday, Feb. 17 are denoted with the candidates' names in bold. 

SHERIFF: Tony Siscoe (R), Brad Stogsdill (R), Rick White (D), Debra Guffey (D), Rick Followell (D), Scott Southerland (R), Tom Jarvis (R), Charles "Chuck" Dill (R), Larry G. Collins (D)

COUNTY CLERK: Beth Mulry (D)

COUNTY AUDITOR: Barbara Bock (D), Glenda Stogsdill (R)

COUNTY ASSESSOR: Rhonda Hardin Kelp (D), Mari H. Miller (R), Donna Kelp Lutes (R)

CORONER: Tim Alward (D)


TRUSTEE, Hamblen Twp.: Stephen W. Arnold (D), Jennifer Rogers-Gilles (D)

TRUSTEE, Jackson Twp.: Melinda "Mindy" Weddle (D), James Kakavecos (R), Mel Lane (R)

TRUSTEE, Van Buren Twp.: Nettie Walls (D), Phil Krueger (R), Vicki Payne (R)

TRUSTEE, Washington Twp.: Paul Hardin (D)

TOWNSHIP BOARD, Hamblen: Frieda Milnes (R), Phil Stephens (R), Tina McCormack (R)

TOWNSHIP BOARD, Jackson: Barb Foley (D), Jan Adele Bauer (D), Rick A. Bond (D), Larry Gardner (R), John D. Price (R), Amy Kelso Couch (D)

TOWNSHIP BOARD, Van Buren: Vicki Payne (R), Susie Rogers (R), Ben Phillips (R), Ben Miller (R), Kathi S. Hedrick Smith (D), James I. "Jim" Bush (D)

TOWNSHIP BOARD, Washington: Mark Imhoff (D), Gerald Joe Miller (D), Gary Davidson (R), Stephanie Binkley-Gore (D)

COUNTY COUNCIL, Dist. 1: James Milnes (R), Christopher Roth (R)

COUNTY COUNCIL, Dist. 2: Cindy J. Steele (D)

COUNTY COUNCIL, Dist. 3: Steve Gore (D), Michael J. Magner (R), Ed Wojdyla (R), Jerry L. Pittman (R)

COUNTY COUNCIL, Dist. 4: Art Knight (R)

COUNTY COMMISSIONER, Dist. 2: Leonard Murray (R), Ron Sanders (D), John B. Kennard Jr. (R), Julie Cauble (D)

SCHOOL BOARD, Dist. 1: Carolyn Bowden

SCHOOL BOARD, Dist. 2: Judith Hardwick, Doug Cauble

SCHOOL BOARD, Dist. 3: John Mills

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Hamblen 1: Benita Fox (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Hamblen 2: Robert L. Dailey (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Hamblen 3: Mary Fouch (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Jackson 1: Mary Ann Walker (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Jackson 2: Richard E. Bond (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Jackson 3: Amy Kelso Couch (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Jackson 4: Michael Fulton (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Van Buren 1: Bob Melton (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Washington 1: Carmen Altop (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Washington 2: Jimmie Edwards (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Washington 3: Stephen W. Gore (D)

PRECINCT COMMITTEE, Washington 4: Shelby J. Keaton (D)



STATE CONVENTION DELEGATE, Washington: Jennifer Voris (R)

STATE CONVENTION DELEGATE, Washington: Grover L. Knight Jr. (D)

See Full List »

Josephine Lee Cueto, 62, Morgantown
  Daughter of Priscilla Burgmeier of Nashville

Mary 'Jane' Kollman, 92, Nashville
  Mother of Janet (Tom) Gaskins of Nashville

Charlotte K. (Adkins) Wilson, 67, Franklin
  Former resident of Brown County

  • November 23
    Annual community-wide hymn sing planned
    6:30 p.m. Nashville Christian Church, 160 S. Van Buren St.
  • November 23
    Nashville Reserve Officers host chili cook-off
    10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Nashville P.D., 200 Hawthorne Drive
  • November 25
    6 p.m. Sycamore Valley Center, 746 Memorial Drive (fairgrounds)
  • November 25
    Open 12-step meetings in New Bellsville area
    6 to 7 p.m. Harmony Baptist Church, 3999 Mt. Liberty Road, New Bellesville
  • November 26
    Go Club meeting Wednesday at coffee/tea shop
    3 p.m. Brown County Public Library, 205 N. Locust Lane
  • November 26
    BC Sheriff's Merit Board
    4 p.m. Sheriff's Office, Law Enforcement Center, 55 State Road 46 East
  • November 28
    6 p.m. Fruitdale Fire Station, 5200 State Road 135 North, Bean Blossom
  • November 29
    6 p.m. Sycamore Valley Center, 746 Memorial Drive (fairgrounds)
  • November 29
    Dave Miller at Abe Martin Lodge
    5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Abe Martin Lodge, Brown County State Park
  • December 2
    6 p.m. Sycamore Valley Center, 746 Memorial Drive (fairgrounds)
  • December 3
    Jeff Foster at Hobnob restaurant
    6 to 8 p.m. Hobnob, 17 W. Main St.
  • December 4
    Go Club at the library Thursdays
    3:30 to 5 p.m. Brown County Public Library, 205 N. Locust Lane
  • December 12
    Widowed group plans Christmas party
    noon Salt Creek Golf Retreat, 2359 State Road 46 East
  • December 12
    BCSP Christmas bird count slated
    8 a.m. BCSP Nature Center, 1810 State Road 46 East
  • December 13
    Free community breakfast at Sprunica church
    8 to 10 a.m. Sprunica Baptist Church, 3902 Sprunica Road