Nobody covers Brown County like The Democrat Buy PDF| Advertise| Contact Us
Hoosier Harvest Cookbook
Latest News
Candidate filings so far
Updated on: 01.31.14

As of noon Friday, Jan. 31, the following people had filed to seek office in the 2014 primary and general elections in Brown County. New filings since our last report are in bold.


Mari H. Miller (R)


Beth Williamson Mulry (D)


Brenda Woods (D)


Earl R. Piper (R)

County commissioner District 2

Diana McDonald Biddle (R)

County council District 4

Arthur “Art” Knight (R)


James Oliver (D)


Rick Followell (D)

William R. Staples (D)

Mike Adams (R)

Scott Southerland (R)

Brad Stogsdill (R)

Hamblen Township Advisory Board

Freida Milnes (R)

Hamblen Township Trustee

Phil Stephens (R)

Jackson Township Advisory Board

Laura Lee Shuck (D)

Van Buren Township Advisory Board

Larry Hanson (D)

Ben Phillips (R)

Washington Township Advisory Board

Donna Kelp Lutes (R)

Glenda K. Stogsdill (R)

Washington Township Trustee

Melissa Stinson (D)

Precinct committee member

Michael Fulton (D), Jackson 4

Kathleen "Kathy" Smith-Andrew (D), Hamblen 3

Linda Welty (D), Jackson 2

Democratic State Convention delegate

Michael Fulton, at large

Linda Welty, Hamblen Township

Republican State Convention delegate

Mark Bowman, Hamblen Township

Robyn Rosenberg Bowman, at large

Ben Phillips, Van Buren Township

Glenda K. Stogsdill, Washington Township

For Republican and Democrat candidates, the deadline to visit the Brown County clerk’s office to file candidacy paperwork is noon Friday, Feb. 7. Independent, Libertarian and other candidates have different deadlines. A candidate guide can be found at

Offices up for election this year are sheriff; prosecutor; auditor; assessor; coroner; clerk; commissioner District 2; county council Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4; Nashville Town Council District 1 and at large; trustees in Hamblen, Jackson, Van Buren and Washington townships; advisory board members in Hamblen, Jackson, Van Buren and Washington townships; Democratic precinct committee members in each of the 12 voting precincts; and Republican state convention delegates and Democratic state convention delegates.

Three candidates also will be elected to the Brown County Schools Board of Trustees; however, they will not be on the ballot until the general election.

This list of candidacy filings is updated at least once each week at

See Full List »

Josephine Lee Cueto, 62, Morgantown
  Daughter of Priscilla Burgmeier of Nashville

Mary 'Jane' Kollman, 92, Nashville
  Mother of Janet (Tom) Gaskins of Nashville

Charlotte K. (Adkins) Wilson, 67, Franklin
  Former resident of Brown County

  • November 25
    6 p.m. Sycamore Valley Center, 746 Memorial Drive (fairgrounds)
  • November 25
    Open 12-step meetings in New Bellsville area
    6 to 7 p.m. Harmony Baptist Church, 3999 Mt. Liberty Road, New Bellesville
  • November 26
    Go Club meeting Wednesday at coffee/tea shop
    3 p.m. Brown County Public Library, 205 N. Locust Lane
  • November 26
    BC Sheriff's Merit Board
    4 p.m. Sheriff's Office, Law Enforcement Center, 55 State Road 46 East
  • November 28
    6 p.m. Fruitdale Fire Station, 5200 State Road 135 North, Bean Blossom
  • November 29
    6 p.m. Sycamore Valley Center, 746 Memorial Drive (fairgrounds)
  • November 29
    Dave Miller at Abe Martin Lodge
    5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Abe Martin Lodge, Brown County State Park
  • December 2
    6 p.m. Sycamore Valley Center, 746 Memorial Drive (fairgrounds)
  • December 3
    Woodworkers Club
    7 p.m. Library, 205 N. Locust Lane
  • December 3
    Jeff Foster at Hobnob restaurant
    6 to 8 p.m. Hobnob, 17 W. Main St.
  • December 4
    Go Club at the library Thursdays
    3:30 to 5 p.m. Brown County Public Library, 205 N. Locust Lane
  • December 12
    Widowed group plans Christmas party
    noon Salt Creek Golf Retreat, 2359 State Road 46 East
  • December 12
    BCSP Christmas bird count slated
    8 a.m. BCSP Nature Center, 1810 State Road 46 East
  • December 13
    Free community breakfast at Sprunica church
    8 to 10 a.m. Sprunica Baptist Church, 3902 Sprunica Road