Candidates on Brown County primary ballot


Feb. 9 was the deadline to file paperwork to become a major-party candidate in the May primary election.

Before the general election, Republicans, Democrats and Libertarians can choose other candidates by June 30 if they had any vacant spots on the ballot during the primary. Independent and minor-party candidates have until July 2 file paperwork to put their names on the general election ballot.

The deadline to register to vote in the May 8 primary election is midnight April 9.

The following candidates will be on the 2018 Brown County primary ballot:

Brown Circuit Court judge

(D) Greg Bowes

(D) Kristopher Kritzer

(R) Jacob “Jake” Moore

(R) Tracey Yeager Stogsdill

(R) Mary Wertz

Brown County prosecutor

(R) Ted Adams

Brown County clerk

(D) Brenda Woods

(R) Deb Noe

(R) Kathy (Grimes) Smith

Brown County auditor

(D) Beth Williamson Mulry

(R) Julia “Julie” B. Reeves

Brown County sheriff

(R) Scott Southerland

Brown County coroner

(R) Earl R. Piper

Brown County assessor

(R) Mari H. Miller

Brown County commissioner, District 2 (northwest Brown County)

(D) Kyle Birkemeier

(D) Jeff Fox

(R) Diana McDonald Biddle

(R) John Kennard

(R) Ronald A. Sanders

Brown County Council, Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4

(D) Debra Guffey (Dist. 1)

(R) Bill Hamilton (Dist. 1)

(R) Darren Byrd (Dist. 2)

(D) Roger D. Kelso (Dist. 3)

(D) Diana H. Wright (Dist. 4)

(R) Arthur “Art” Knight (Dist. 4)

Township trustees, all townships

(R) Phil Stephens (Hamblen)

(R) Sandra K. Higgins (Jackson)

(D) Susan W. Showalter (Van Buren)

(R) Vicki Payne (Van Buren)

(D) Paul D. Hardin (Washington)

(R) Brandon Edens Magner (Washington)

Township board members, all townships, three seats

(R) Tina McCormack (Hamblen)

(R) Freida Milnes (Hamblen)

(R) Lanny Rossman (Hamblen)

(R) Larry L. Gardner (Jackson)

(R) James E. Kakavecos Jr. (Jackson)

(R) Sandra D. Pool (Jackson)

(D) Kevin G. Fleming (Van Buren)

(D) Michael O’Connor (Van Buren)

(R) Clara M. Becraft (Van Buren)

(R) Tim J. Kelley (Van Buren)

(R) Ben Miller (Van Buren)

(R) Ben Phillips (Van Buren)

(D) Stefanie Gore (Washington)

(R) Tim Cunningham (Washington)

Democratic Party precinct officials

(D) M.K. Watkins (Hamblen 1)

(D) James Lowell Oliver (Hamblen 2)

(D) Kathy Smith-Andrew (Hamblen 3)

(D) Lora Lewis Rudd (Jackson 1)

(D) Linda Welty (Jackson 2)

(D) Rick Bond (Jackson 3)

(D) Kevin G. Fleming (Van Buren)

(D) Herbert Brown (Washington 1)

(D) Stephen W. Gore (Washington 3)

(D) Curt Mayfield (Washington 4)

Democratic Party state delegates

(D) Teri Bleuel

(D) Herbert Brown

(D) Nancy K. Brown

(D) Kevin G. Fleming

(D) James Lowell Oliver

(D) Larry “Levi” Voils III

(D) M.K. Watkins

(D) Linda Welty

Republican Party state delegates

(R) Mark Bowman

(R) Robyn Bowman

(R) Ben Phillips

(R) Phil Stephens

U.S. representative Dist. 9

(D) Dan Canon

(D) Rob Chatlos

(D) Liz Watson

(R) James Dean Alspach

(R) Trey Hollingsworth

U.S. senator

(D) Joe Donnelly

(R) Mike Braun

(R) Luke Messer

(R) Todd Rokita

State representative Dist. 65

(D) Jared Stancombe

(R) Chris D. May

More offices will be on the general election ballot in November:

  • Nashville Town Council District 1 and two at-large members (currently “Buzz” King, Arthur Omberg and David Rudd)
  • Brown County Schools Board of Trustees members from districts 1, 2 and 3 (currently Carol Bowden, Judy Hardwick and Steve Miller Jr.)

School board and town council seats are nonpartisan.

Nashville residents seeking town council seats have until July 2 to file paperwork with the Brown County clerk. At-large candidates can live anywhere in town limits; District 1 candidates have to live on the far west side of downtown, on the west side of State Road 135 North up to Ridgeway, or in Pine Tree Hills or other points north.

PDF: Nashville Town Council district map

Prospective school board members can file their paperwork between July 25 and Aug. 24. District 1 is Hamblen Township; District 2 is Jackson Township and the Washington 4 precinct in the Belmont and Yellowwood areas; and District 3 is the rest of Washington Township and Van Buren Township.

For more information on candidacy or registering to vote, contact the Brown County clerk’s office at 812-988-5510.