BLOOMINGTON — More than two dozen students from five counties will compete Feb. 13 in the IU Bee at the Monroe County Public Library, vying for the chance to participate in the national contest near Washington, D.C., in May. The competition will serve as the Scripps Regional Spelling Bee for south-central Indiana.

The four Brown County spellers are Alyson Pennington from Brown County Intermediate School, Chloee Robison from Brown County Junior High School, Nathan Crenshaw from Sprunica Elementary School and Amelia Shirley from Van Buren Elementary School.

The competition is open to students through grade eight who have won spelling bees in their schools. The winner will receive an all-expenses-paid trip for two to the national competition, which will take place in National Harbor, Maryland, during Bee Week 2016 on May 22-27.

Last year, Robison won the regional bee and made it to the third round of the national bee.

Story continues below gallery

Choir students make all-state ensembles

Brown County Schools was represented by five junior high students and one high school student at the Indiana All-State Choral Ensembles in January.

The ensembles include about 150 singers from across the state. Members are picked by audition each year, said Kristi Billings, director of vocal music at Brown County High School.

The Brown County Junior High School choir participants were Joey Drew (bass), Quentin Heltman (tenor), Trista Fields (alto), Evelyn Pool (alto) and Haley Davidson (soprano). Noah Guinn (tenor) represented Brown County High School. They performed at the Embassy Theater in Fort Wayne Jan. 15 and 16.

Band students earn high marks at festival

Brown County Junior High and High School band students excelled at the Indiana State School Music Association Instrumental Solo and Ensemble Festival Jan. 30.

Nineteen junior high band students prepared a solo and performed it with piano accompaniment for a judge who was a specialist on their instrument, said junior high band director Amy Smith.

All BCJHS participants earned gold medal ratings: John Oliver, drum set; Erin Harden, snare drum; David Cridlin, trombone; Jackson McKinley, Mya Sawyers and Katie Trapp, trumpet; Emma Harden and Katianna Richardson, flute; Sebastian Pritchard and Emma Beck, French horn; Myka Snyder, Nicole Prosch and Abigail Huber, alto saxophone; Jake Rodgers, baritone saxophone; and Francesca Mata, Gracelyn Patton, Kyle Roberson, Jake Huddleston and Loki Culver, clarinet

High school band students also received awards at the ISSMA competition.

Out of the 15 students who participated, 13 earned gold medals and two earned silver medals, high school band director Nathanael Sudduth said.

Medalists were Josephine Armstrong, Eli deWeerdt, Hunter Ellis, Story Ellis, Madisyn Fry, Ethan Hallock, Caleb Hayes, Will Leggins, Cole Lewis, Macy Morgan, Shawn Rodgers, Ben Rygiel, Tiffany Seagraves, Abbie Shaffer and Chase Watson.

Because they earned a gold medal in Group I, which is the most advanced level, six students advanced to the state contest Feb. 27 in Indianapolis: deWeerdt, Hallock, Hayes, Leggins, Rodgers (won two events) and Shaffer.

Ivy Tech dean’s list

COLUMBUS — The following area students were among the 871 named to the dean’s list for the fall 2015 semester at Ivy Tech Community College Columbus/Southeast: Nikolas Lawson, Tanya Adams, Mikel Duncan, Kaitlin Ellis, Chris Fox, John Harris, Michael Kelley, all of Nashville; Adrienne Malan, Rebecca Wedan, Lynn Barker, Melissa Gray and Russell Roark, all of Freetown.

Recipients must earn a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Collin Graeber, Hannah Partridge

MUNCIE — Two Brown County students made the fall 2015 dean’s list at Ball State University: Collin Graeber of Nashville and Hannah Partridge of Morgantown.

Mallory Olds

MUNCIE — Mallory Olds of Morgantown earned a bachelor’s degree from Ball State University after the fall 2015 semester.

Purdue dean’s list

About 17,000 Purdue University students earned academic honors for the fall 2015 semester throughout the school’s five campuses. Brown County students on the list were:

Columbus campus: Joshua Hotopp and Brandon Johnson.

West Lafayette campus: Morgan Manuel, Madeline Goris, Connor Guingrich, Kacee Lambert, Maxwell Teal and Ben Watson.

To earn honors, students must have earned at least a 3.5 semester or cumulative grade-point average on a four-point scale.

Elizabeth Jackson

BOURBONNAIS, Illinois — Elizabeth Jackson of Nineveh was named to the dean’s list at Olivet Nazarene University during the fall 2015 semester. To qualify, a student must earn a semester grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a four-point scale.

Her mother, Carrie Jackson, reports that Elizabeth earned a 4.0 GPA and is a starting volleyball player.

Tyler Smith, Ethan Whitaker

INDIANAPOLIS — Two Morgantown students made the honor roll at The University of Indianapolis for the fall 2015 semester: Tyler Smith and Ethan Whitaker.

Students named to the Honor Roll have earned a grade-point average of between 3.4 and 3.7.

Emily Miller, Molly Miller

HANOVER — Twin sisters Emily Miller and Molly Miller made the dean’s list at Hanover College for the fall 2015 semester. To qualify, students must have a grade-point average of 3.5 or better.

Emily Miller is a junior economics major and Molly Miller is a junior English major. They are the daughters of Michael and Mari Miller of Nashville and graduates of Brown County High School.

IUPUC dean’s list

COLUMBUS — Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus’ dean’s list for the fall 2015 semester includes the following local students:

Of Morgantown: Chayli Dakota Brock, Ryan Decker, Maggie Elizabeth Evans, Joshua Diego Luna

Of Nashville: Mallory Dawn Baker, Amy Joan Gill, Lori Noel Haggard, Charrisse Marie Robertson, Amanda Smith, John Hayden Smith, Christine Yvonne Sullivan, Tawnya S. Thomas

Of Nineveh: Thomas A. Jennings, Michael Gene Thompson, Kasie Michelle Williams

To receive the honor, students must have earned at least a 3.7 term grade-point average.